1st International and 7th National Conference on Multidisciplinary Design, Analysis and Optimization (iNCMDAO 2024)

December 16-18, 2024, IISc-Bengaluru

previous arrow
next arrow


This international conference follows the six national conferences on the MDAO theme held since 2018 (ncmdao.org). Indian Institute of Science (IISc) and the Aeronautical Society of India (AeSI) are the organizers of iNCMDAO-2024 that aims to bring together international researchers and the growing MDAO community in India from academia, industry, and government laboratories.

The 1st international and 7th edition of the National Conference on Multidisciplinary Design, Analysis and Optimization (NCMDAO 2023) is organized in the verdant and vibrant campus of Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru,  from December 16 – 18, 2024.

The conference provides a platform for invites talks, contributed paper presentations, interactive poster sessions, thematic sessions, panel discussions, and masterclass lectures on contemporary topics.

Download Call-for-papers


The focus is on design and analysis as applicable to optimization of engineering systems in aerospace, mechanical, automotive, manufacturing, biomedical and other domains. The overall scope of the conference is classified into the following technical topics:

  • Structural optimization: size, shape, and topology
  • Design and optimization of materials, and metamaterials
  • Multi-scale and multi-physics problems
  • Metamodeling
  • Systems design and optimization
  • Optimization for additive manufacturing
  • Optimization in biology, medicine, and biomedical fields
  • Generative design
  • Digital twins
  • Evolutionary and Bayesian optimization
  • Quantum algorithms for optimization
  • Uncertainty modeling
  • Reliability and robustness in design
  • Impact of large language models in engineering optimization
  • Transfer learning and one-shot learning for optimization
  • Industry applications and case studies in optimal design
  • MDAO in aerospace, automotive, biomedical, and other domains
  • Other emerging topics in MDAO



  • Prof. Govindan Rangarajan, Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Kota Harinarayana, Design Division, Aeronautical Society of India

Conference Steering Committee

  • Dr. Kota Harinarayana, Design Division, Aeronautical Society of India
  • Prof. K. Sudhakar, Retired professor, IIT-Bombay
  • Prof. G. K. Ananthasuresh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
  • Prof. Palaniapan Ramu, Indian Institute of Technology-Madras
  • Dr. Ravi Salagame, Autobotik-Singapore
  • Dr. Pankaj Priyadarshi, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Indian Space Research Organization, Thiruvanthapuram
  • Mr. Vinay Ramanath, Siemens, Bengaluru
  • Prof. Deepak Sharma, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati

Conference Chair

  • Prof. G. K. Ananthasuresh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

Technical Committee

  • Co-chairs: Prof. Palaniappan Ramu (Indian Institute of Technology-Madras) and Mr. Vinay Ramanath, Siemens-Bengaluru
  • Prof. Sourav Rakshit (ex officio from the publicity committee)
  • [tentative]
  • Prof. Yoojeong Noh (Pusan National University)
  • Prof. Rajib Chowdhury (IIT-Roorkee)
  • Prof. Phanisri Pradeep (IIT-Madras)
  • Prof. Prabhat Kumar (IIT-Hyderabad)
  • Prof. Deepak Sharma (IIT-Guwahati)
  • Prof. Safvan Palathingal (IIT-Hyderabad)
  • Prof. Abhijit Gogulapati (IIT-Bombay)
  • Prof. Asim Tiwari (IIT-Bombay)
  • Mr. Suhas K. Suresh (Harting-Bengaluru)
  • Mr. Vinay Maruthi (GM-Bengaluru)
  • Mr. Christoph Ludwig (Siemens-Munich)
  • Prof. Krishnan Suresh (Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Dr. Gaurav Ameta (Siemens-Princeton)
  • Mr. Sesha Gudavarapu (Siemens-Princeton)
  • Dr. Akshay Desai (Bosch-Bengaluru)
  • Mr. Pakeeruraju Podugu (DRDL-Hyderabad)
  • Dr. Valliammai Somasundaram (ADA-Bengaluru)
  • Mr. Abhay Kumar, Siemens, Bengaluru

Finance Committee

  • Chair: Prof. Dhish Saxena, Indian Institute of Technology-Roorkee
  • Prof. Rinku Mittal, Indian Institute of Technology-Guwahati
  • Mr. Rakesh Kumar, Design Division, Aeronautical Society of India
  • Ms. Rashmi U, Indian Institute of Science

Industry Committee

  • Chair: Dr. Ravi Salagame, Autobotic-Singapore
  • Mr. Vinay Ramnath, Siemens, Bengaluru
  • Mr. Mohan Sangli, iCube Consulting
  • Mr. Murali Balasubramaniam, Stellantis Tech Center, Chennai
  • Dr. Vivek Dave, Harting, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • Mr. Jan Mikolon, Senior Technologist, IBM Munich

International Coordination Committee

  • Co-chairs: Dr. Somanath Nagendra and Prof. Anupam Saxena, Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur

Publicity and Web Committee

  • Chair: Prof. Sourav Rakshit, Indian Institute of Technology-Madras
  • Dr. Sai Kumar Kandula, Boson Q Psi

Local Organizing Committee

  • Chair: Dr. M. Sivapragasam, M. S. Ramaiah University of Applied Sciences, Bengaluru
  • Ms. Valliammai Somasundaram, Aeronautical Development Agency, Bangalore
  • Mr. Vadivelan A., Aeronautical Development Establishment, Bangalore
  • Mr. Kandaswamy S., Research Centre Imarat, Hyderabad

International Advisory Committee

  • Chair: Prof. Kalyanmoy Deb, Michigan State University
  • Members to be added

Past Editions of NCMDAO (2018-2023)